University of Minnesota
Institute of Linguistics
ling@umn.edu
612-624-3331


People

Faculty

Institute of Linguistics Faculty

Faculty in the Academic Program in Linguistics
Name Office Telephone Email Interests
Jeanette Gundel
Prof. of Linguistics
S222 Elliott Hall 612-624-7564 gunde003@umn.edu Pragmatics, Language and Cognition
Claire Halpert
Asst. Prof. of Linguistics
S315 Elliott Hall 612-626-5400 halpert@umn.edu Syntax, Field Methods, African Languages
Tim Hunter
Asst. Prof. of Linguistics
S317 Elliott Hall 612-624-2725 timh@umn.edu Syntax, Semantics, Computational Linguistics
Anna Lubowicz
Adjunct Asst. Prof.
S244 Elliott Hall 612-626-7073 lubow003@umn.edu Phonology
Jean-Philippe Marcotte
Contract Asst. Prof.
S318 Elliott Hall 612-625-9349 marco043@umn.edu Syntax, Semantics
Brian Reese
Contract Asst. Prof.
S314 Elliott Hall 612-626-4507 breese@umn.edu Semantics, Pragmatics, Computational Linguistics
Hooi Ling Soh
Prof. of Linguistics
257 Ford Hall 612-626-9687 sohxx001@umn.edu Syntax, Semantics
Other Faculty
Name Office Telephone Email Interests
Polly Szatrowski
Prof. of Japanese Language & Linguistics
319 Elliott Hall 612-624-1860 szatr001@umn.edu Conversation Analysis, Japanese Linguistics


Affiliated Faculty in Other Departments

Name Office Telephone Email Assocation
Geneviève Escure 210D Lind Hall 612-625-6095 escur001@umn.edu English, Language/Literature
Timothy Face 35 Folwell Hall 612-625-1328 facex002@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese
Charles Fletcher N218 Elliott Hall 612-625-6096 fletc002@umn.edu Psychology
Michael Kac 812 Heller Hall 612-625-1865 kacxx001@umn.edu Philosophy
Daniel Karvonen 154 Folwell Hall 612-626-1651 karvo001@umn.edu German, Scandinavian, & Dutch
Betsy Kerr 260 Folwell Hall 612-624-6505 bjkerr@umn.edu French & Italian
Carol Anne Klee 4E Folwell Hall 612-625-9521 klee@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese
Michael Maratsos 208B Child Dev 612-624-1027 marat001@umn.edu Institute of Child Development
Benjamin Munson 115 Shevlin Hall 612-624-3322 munso005@umn.edu Speech-Lang Hearing Sci
John Nichols 19 Scott Hall 612-625 2065 jdn@umn.edu American Indian Studies
Maria Sera 208C Child Dev 612-624-2856 sera@umn.edu Institute of Child Development
Amy Sheldon 228 Ford Hall 612-624-2504 asheldon@umn.edu Communication Studies

Emeritus Faculty

Name Interests
Gerald A. Sanders (Ph.D., Indiana University) Syntax; language typology; writing systems
Bruce Downing Translation and interpreting, language policy and planning, English linguistics, forensic linguistics, bilingualism
Nancy Stenson Irish and Celtic linguistics, language contact and change, Native American languages, syntax and morphology.