University of Minnesota
Institute of Linguistics
ling@umn.edu
612-624-3331


People

Faculty

Institute of Linguistics Faculty

Academic Program in Linguistics Faculty
Name Office Telephone Email Title
Jeanette Gundel S222 Elliott Hall 612-624-7564 gunde003@umn.edu Professor of Linguistics
Claire Halpert S315 Elliott Hall 612-626-5400 halpert@umn.edu Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Tim Hunter S317 Elliott Hall 612-624-2725 timh@umn.edu Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Anna Lubowicz S244 Elliott Hall 612-626-7073 lubow003@umn.edu Adjunct Assistant Professor
Jean-Philippe Marcotte S318 Elliott Hall 612-626-9349 marco043@umn.edu Contract Assistant Professor
Brian Reese S314 Elliott Hall 612-626-4507 breese@umn.edu Contract Assistant Professor
Hooi Ling Soh S313 Elliott Hall 612-626-9687 sohxx001@umn.edu Professor of Linguistics
Other Faculty
Name Office Telephone Email Title
Polly Szatrowski 319 Elliott Hall 612-624-1860 szatr001@umn.edu Professor, Japanese Language & Linguistics


Affiliated Faculty in Other Departments

Name Office Telephone Email Assocation
Geneviève Escure 210D Lind Hall 612-625-6095 escur001@umn.edu English, Language/Literature
Timothy Face 35 Folwell Hall 612-625-1328 facex002@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese
Charles Fletcher N218 Elliott Hall 612-625-6096 fletc002@umn.edu Psychology
Michael Kac 812 Heller Hall 612-625-1865 kacxx001@umn.edu Philosophy
Daniel Karvonen 154 Folwell Hall 612-626-1651 karvo001@umn.edu German, Scandinavian, & Dutch
Betsy Kerr 260 Folwell Hall 612-624-6505 bjkerr@umn.edu French & Italian
Carol Anne Klee 4E Folwell Hall 612-625-9521 klee@umn.edu Spanish & Portuguese
Michael Maratsos 208B Child Dev 612-624-1027 marat001@umn.edu Institute of Child Development
Benjamin Munson 115 Shevlin Hall 612-624-3322 munso005@umn.edu Speech-Lang Hearing Sci
John Nichols 19 Scott Hall 612-625 2065 jdn@umn.edu American Indian Studies
Maria Sera 208C Child Dev 612-624-2856 sera@umn.edu Institute of Child Development
Amy Sheldon 228 Ford Hall 612-624-2504 asheldon@umn.edu Communication Studies

Emeritus Faculty

Name Interests
Gerald A. Sanders (Ph.D., Indiana University) Syntax; language typology; writing systems
Bruce Downing Translation and interpreting, language policy and planning, English linguistics, forensic linguistics, bilingualism
Nancy Stenson Irish and Celtic linguistics, language contact and change, Native American languages, syntax and morphology.